FG to pay N75,000 per semester to students studying in public institutions – Nairametrics

The federal government has announced the approval of a payment of 75,000 naira per semester for each undergraduate course studying at any of the country’s public universities.

The government also revealed that students who complete the National Certificate in Education (NCE) program at public institutions will earn N50,000. This initiative is part of the federal government’s efforts to make education highly attractive in order to attract students. better brains.

The disclosure was made by Education Minister Adamu Adamu on Tuesday during this year’s World Teachers’ Day celebration in Abuja as the federal government reintroduces the scholarships, according to ChannelsTV.

What the minister says

The minister said the ministry will work with state governments to ensure that those who have studied at higher education institutions automatically get jobs after graduation.

The ministry also stressed that it will partner with the education ministries of the 36 states, including the CTF Education Council, to identify the respective degree programs required by each state, after which 150,000 N will be awarded to undergraduates and N 100,000 for NCEs. students.

The ministry’s statement reads: “Recipients must attend public institutions only and sign an obligation to serve their state for five (5) years after graduation.. ”

Adamu said the fund will come from the Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC), the Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) and be managed by the Federal Scholarship Board.

Beneficiaries will also be awarded a sponsorship for at least one refresher training per year.

The minister also announced the federal government’s plan to establish a polytechnic in each of the states of the federation where one does not yet exist. This is part of efforts to further improve the quality of education across the country.

As part of efforts to further improve the quality of education in the country, Adamu said that the federal government’s plans to establish a polytechnic in each of the states of the federation, where there are currently none in existence. , are in class.

Adamu added that the federal government has also approved the establishment of 6 new federal education colleges which will be located in Iwo, Osun State: Ekhadolor, Edo State; Gidan Madi, Sokoto State; Odugbo, Benue State: Jama’are, Bauchi and Isu State, Ebonyi State.

What you should know

  • The education sector has been severely underfunded across the country, particularly with the remuneration and welfare of Nigerian teachers.
  • On October 5, 2021, the federal government announced that it had started pilot implementation of a new retirement age for teachers.
  • It comes after President Muhammadu Buhari approved 65 or 40 years of service as the new retirement age for teachers.

Source link

Previous MPs and education experts suggest various models for schools to recoup learning losses
Next Credit card surprises you need to watch out for

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *