Byron, Elliott and Larson will drive some races for JRM

MOORESVILLE, North Carolina – William Byron, Chase Elliott and Kyle Larson add more races in 2022.

Today, JR Motorsports announced that it will field a fifth car in five additional NASCAR Xfinity Series events this season. Byron, Elliott and Larson will partner to start in the team’s No. 88 Chevrolet Camaro with primary sponsorship from

Elliott, who won the 2020 NASCAR Cup Series championship with Hendrick Motorsports, will kick off at Darlington Raceway on May 7. Byron will drive the No. 88 Chevy at Texas Motor Speedway on May 21 and at New Hampshire Motor Speedway in July. 16. Defending Cup champion Larson plays Aug. 20 at Watkins Glen International and Sept. 3 at Darlington.

JR Motorsports owner Dale Earnhardt Jr. is a longtime partner of Hendrick Motorsports owner and Hendrick Automotive Group CEO Rick Hendrick. four General Motors franchises located in Tallahassee, Florida. Hendrick is also a minority owner of JRM.

“The NASCAR platform has been instrumental in helping us build into a national brand, and we look forward to building on that momentum with this expanded effort,” said Greg Gach, president of Hendrick Automotive Group. , based in Charlotte. “We are committed to our racing programs and supporting our Hendrick Motorsports teammates whenever we can, and we know these extra races will benefit our drivers and our teams.

“We are also excited to work with Dale Jr. on this opportunity. They’re a great partner whose dealerships have created tremendous value for our General Motors customers. It’s a win-win for everyone. » is Hendrick Automotive Group’s online destination for buying new and used vehicles, locating collision repair and service centers, exploring career opportunities and learning about investment protection in vehicles. He sponsors Larson’s #5 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet Camaro ZL1 in the Cup Series in addition to NHRA Champion Greg Anderson and other grassroots racing efforts.

All three drivers have previously driven for JRM. Both Byron and Elliott are former Xfinity Series Champions and multiple time winners in the organization. Larson made a debut for JRM’s Camping World Truck Series operation in 2015.

The news takes the No. 88 team’s tally to nine events in 2022, up from the previously announced four departures. Team leader duties will be announced at a later date.

Previous Atlanta Braves outfielder Eddie Rosario prepares for laser procedure to correct blurry vision, team says
Next akutaq infrastructure in times of prosperity